Skip to main content

Managing Access to Models

About Model Access Control

New feature

DAI 6.3 departs from the single group-based access control for models of previous DAI versions. Model access can now be shared with lists of multiple users and groups.

In Eggplant DAI, the user who creates a model automatically gets assigned access to it. They can share access to models they have access to with multiple users and groups by listing each one in the Model's Access Control List.

Admin users and API clients have access to all models. Admin users have the permissions to create groups and add users to groups. Note that changes to a user's group memberships will take a few minutes to reflect if the user is logged in. Get the user to log out and back in to have them take effect instantly.

Update Model Access

Share access to a model with specific users and groups so they can also update the model, run tests, or view test results.

  1. Go to Designer > Models and find the model that you're interested in.
  2. From the actions menu on the model, select Model Access.
  3. Select or remove the users and groups that you want to have access to your model and click Save.
note

Access via group membership will not be immediately reflected. See Manage Model Access for more.

Create an Access Group

  1. Log in as Admin user
  2. Go to System > Access
  3. Click Manage Users to open the User Management Console.
  4. Go to the Groups tab.
  5. Click New.
  6. Give the group a name.
  7. Click Save.

Rename an Access Group

  1. Log in as Admin user
  2. Go to System > Access
  3. Click Manage Users to open the User Management Console.
  4. Go to the Groups tab.
  5. Select the group you want to rename.
  6. Click Edit.
  7. Update the group name and click Save.

Delete an Access Group

  1. Log in as Admin user
  2. Go to System > Access
  3. Click Manage Users to open the User Management Console.
  4. Go to the Groups tab.
  5. Select the group that you want to remove and press Delete. That opens a confirmation prompt.
  6. Click Delete in the new window to confirm.

Add a User to an Access Group

  1. Log in as Admin user
  2. Go to System > Access
  3. Click Manage Users to open the User Management Console.
  4. Find the user that you're interested in and press Edit. That displays the user details page.
  5. Navigate to the user's Groups tab.
  6. Select the group you want the user to be a member of out of the list of Available Groups in the right pane.
  7. Click Join. The group gets added to the list of Assigned Groups in the left pane to reflect the change.

Remove a User from an Access Group

  1. Log in as Admin user
  2. Go to System > Access
  3. Click Manage Users to open the User Management Console.
  4. Find the user that you're interested in and press Edit. That displays the user details page.
  5. Navigate to the user's Groups tab.
  6. Out of the list of Assigned Groups in the left pane, select the group you want the user to leave.
  7. Click Leave. The group gets removed from the list of Assigned Groups in the left pane to reflect the change.

See Managing Models to learn how to manage access, content, version control, and testing for existing models.